Monday May 29, 2023

Rainy day at Seongmun An…long hitters ‘take notice’ of ‘two-on’ par-5 hole

The first professional tournament at Seongmunan Country Club. Why the Korean Ladies Professional Golf Association (KLPGA) Tour’s top hitters will have their eyes on the course management.

The KLPGA Tour’s 10th event of the season, the E1 Charity Open (total prize money of 900 million won), will be held at Seongmunan Country Club (Par 72) in Wonju, Gangwon Province. Seongmunan CC opened in September 2022 and will be making its first professional appearance. Last year, the Korean Professional Golf Association (KPGA) Club League The Final was held at Seongmunan, but it was an event.

The course is named after the old name of Seongmun, which means “gate” because the two huge rock walls are like gates guarding the town. The fairways are all bentgrass, so you can enjoy a leisurely and dynamic round in an elegant space.

It’s a unique course. There’s an even mix of difficult and easy holes, and a clear distinction between uphill and downhill holes. It’s also designed so carefully that you’ll have to take into account the slopes on the sides.

One of the highlights of this tournament is the par-5 holes. “The ninth hole, which requires a bold approach over a bunker on the right with a vast lake and rocky cliffs below, and the 16th hole, which requires a two-on approach to the left fairway near a mountain stream, are key,” said Lee So-yeon, Head of Golf at HDC Resorts.안전놀이터

It will be interesting to see how the KLPGA Tour’s longest hitters fare in this event. It will be interesting to see how Kim Soo-ji and Kwak Bomi, who are ranked first and second in driving distance, as well as rookies Hwang Yoo-min and Kim Min-byul and powerhouse Bang Shin-sil will perform on the par-5 Seongmunan.

The tournament will also draw attention to the playing styles of Choi Hye-jin, who is making her first domestic outing, and overseas player Yoo So-yeon, who is playing as a recommended player.

Above all, the E1 Charity Open is a tournament without a winner. It has been held 10 times so far, but has never allowed a multiple winner. Defending champion Jung Yoon-ji, along with former champions Ji Han-sol and Lee So-young, will be aiming for the top spot. It will be interesting to see if there will be a winner of the season.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top